Research Methods and Practices

Page history last edited by Robert Martel 2 years, 6 months ago

1) Find print books by their Call Numbers:

Below is a selection of books from the AST collection related to the subject "Research Methods and Practices"

Hint: Try browsing the shelves around these books to find others related to the subject

Qualitative Inquiry & Research Design: Choosing Among Five Approaches	H 61 C73 2007
Up Close and Personal: The Teaching and Learning of Narrative Research	PN 212 U68 2003
Spotlight on Critical Skills in Essay Writing	PE 1471 M39 2007
Qualitative Research: A guide to design and implementation	LB 1028 M396 2009
Doing Theological Research: An Introductory Guide for Survival in Theological Education	BR 118 P39 2009
Practical Theology and Qualitative Research	BV 3 S95 2006
Social Science Research Methods in Contemporary Liturgical Research: An Introduction	BV 178 L56 2010
Discourse as Data: A Guide for Analysis	P 302 D54864 2001
Exploring Music as Worship and Theology: Research in liturgical practice	ML 3080 M34 2002

2) Search by Subjects in the Online Library Catalogue:

Select "Advanced Search" then "Atlantic School of Theology catalogue only". Under "Filters" select "Subject" and enter one of the following below:

Research Methodology

Quantitative Research

Qualitative Research

Research Analysis

Research Ethics

Research Design

3) Reference Sources

Handbooks and Guides:

SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research	H 62 H2455 2005
Routledge Handbook of Research Methods in the Study of Religion	BL 41 R686 2011
Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers	LB 2369 T8 2007
Your Indispensible Guide to Writing Quality Research Papers: for Students of Religion and Theology	BL 41 V94 2001
Tri-council policy statement :ethical conduct for research involving humans	R 853 H8 M43 2010
Research Strategies: Finding your Way through the Information Fog	Z 710 B23 2008
Modern Researcher	LB 2369 B28 2004

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL):

Includes online multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks, and specialized reference sources
Subject areas covered include History, Law, Religion, and the Social Sciences

Select titles in the GVRL:

Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods

Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods

4) Journals

To find journal titles (not articles) select the "Journals A-Z" tab in the Online Library Catalogue

You can also browse the library's most recent print journal subscriptions located on the third floor or explore our back issues in the basement of the library.

Some past print journal subscriptions are:

International Journal of Qualitative Methods

5) Instructional Resources

Tutorials:

Identifying Scholarly Journals

Evaluating Information Sources

Tutorials:

AST Library Tutorials

Using the online catalogue to Find Books and Searching Online Databases to find journal articles

Style Guides:

Chicago Manual of Style Online (print version is available in the Reference Collection: Z 253 U69 2010)

The SBL Handbook of Style: for Ancient Near Eastern, Biblical, and Early Christian Studies (print version available in Reference Collection: PN 147 S26 1999)

6) Online Resources

Research Ethics:

Saint Mary's University Research Ethics Board (REB)

Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans, 2nd Edition

Tri-Council Policy Statement, 2nd Edition- Course

Theological Research Methods:

University of Kent: Research Methods for the Study of Religion

Writing Resources:

Saint Mary's University Writing Centre

AST students are welcome at the SMU Writing Centre

OWL at Purdue

Writing resources, including grammar and the mechanics of writing; style guides; and research tips