| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!

View
 

Church History

Page history last edited by Robert Martel 2 years ago

 

1) Find print books by their Call Numbers:

Below is a selection of books from the AST collection related to the subject "History of Christianity"

 

Hint:  Try browsing the shelves around these books to find others related to the subject

 

Handbooks and Dictionaries:

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
BR 95 O8 2005
Westminster Handbook to Patristic Theology
BR 162.3 M38 2004
Dictionary of the Early Christian Church
BR 66.5 L4813 2000
Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs
BR 66.5 D53 1998
Handbook of Early Christianity: Social Science Approaches BR 166 H36 2002
Church History: An Introduction to Research, Reference Works, and Methods BR 138 B69 1995
Eerdmans Handbook to the History of Christianity BR 146 E35
Dictionary of Christian Biography BR 1700.2 D53 2001 
Chronological and Background Charts of Church History BR 146 W33 1986
New Westminster Dictionary of Church History BR 95 W496 2008 v. 1

Dictionary of Christian Biography, Literature, Sects and Doctrines (4 volumes)

BR 95 S65 1877
Westminster Dictionary New Testament and Early Christian Literature and Rhetoric BS 2312 A86 2003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

General and Specific Histories:  
New Testament: A Historical Introduction to the Early Christian Writings
BS 2330.3 E38 2004 
Oxford Illustrated History of Christianity
BR 145.2 O86 1990
History of Christianity in the United States and Canada BR 515 H57 1992
History of Christian Philosophy in the Middle Ages B 72 G48 1955b
Rise of Christianity: A Sociologist Reconsiders History BR 166 S75 1996
History of Christian Thought (3 volumes)
BT 21.2 G6
Readings in the History of Christian Theology (2 volumes)
BT 80 R35 1988
History of Christian Theology BT 21.2 P57 1983
Christian World: A Social and Cultural History BR 115 C5 C47
Christian Tradition: A History of the Development of Doctrine BT 21.2 P42
Christian World: A Global History BR 145.3 M375 2007
Story of the Faith: A Survey of Christian History for Undogmatic BR 145 G49
Early Christian Church (2 volumes)
BR 165 C33
Early Church and the Coming Great Church BR 165 K63
Property and Riches in the Early Church: Aspects of a Social History of Early Christianity BR 166 H4513 1974

 

2) Search by Subjects in the Online Library Catalogue:

Select "Advanced Search" then "Atlantic School of Theology catalogue only". Under "Filters" select "Subject" and enter one of the following below:

 

Christianity, Early

Christianity, History

Christianity, Early Church

Church, History

Church, Early

Church, Fathers

Fathers, Early Church

Christian Literature, Early

History, Church Fathers

History, Early Church

 

3) Reference Sources

Encyclopedias:

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity
BR 162.2 E53 1990
Encyclopedia of Monasticism
BL 631 E54 2000 v. 1-2
Augustine Through the Ages: An Encyclopedia B 655 Z69 A84 1999
New Catholic Encyclopedia BX 841 N44 2003
Encyclopedia of the Early Church BR 66.5 D5813 1992b v. 1-2

 

Bibliographies:

Matrology: A Bibliography of Writings by Christian Women from the first to the fifteenth Centuries Z 7751 K33 1995 
Early Church: An Annotated Bibliography of Literature in English BR 162.2 R63 1993 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL):

  • Includes online multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks, and specialized reference sources
  • Subject areas covered include History, Law, Religion, and the Social Sciences

 

Select titles in the GVRL:

Melton's Encyclopedia of American Religions

Brill Dictionary of Religion

Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World

New Catholic Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of Religion

 

4) Journals

To find journal titles (not articles) select the "Journals A-Z" tab in the Online Library Catalogue

 

You can also browse the library's most recent print journal subscriptions located on the 3rd floor or explore our back issues in the basement of the library.

Some journal titles of interest are:

 

Church History: Studies in Christianity and Culture

Church History

The History of the Church of Christ, Previous to Reformation

Catholic Historical Review

Journal of Presbyterian History

International Review for the History of Religions

Journal of Ecclesiastical History

 

5) Article Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

  • Full text articles on biblical archaeology; church history, mission, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; theology, religion, philosophy, and ethics
    

Academic Search Premier

  • A multidiscipline database containing full text articles in 15 major areas of academic study including theology, religion, philosophy, and ethics

Directory of Open Access Journals 

  • An online directory of open access  journals. Includes peer-reviewed journals and full text articles

 

6) Online Resources

Websites:

Christian Classics Ethereal Library

Church History Timeline

History and Church History

 

7) Audiovisual Materials 

Early Christianity: The Experience of the Divine
BR 165 J61 2002d DVD pt. 1-2
History of Christianity in the Reformation Era
BR 309 G74 2001d DVD pt. 1-3
Martin Luther: Theology and Revolution BR 334.2 R86 1998 VIDEO CASS 1-7
Zwingli and Calvin
BR 315 Z9 1995 VIDEO CASS
Feminist Look at Early Christianity
BR 45 P6 1991 VIDEO CASS 1-4

 

Have a question?  Please contact the AST Library for assistance.

AST Library Website

Soul Tending: Life Forming Practices for Older Youth and Young Adults
B 655 Z69 A84 1999

A dictionary of early Christian beliefs : a reference guide to more than 700 topics discussed by the Early Church Fathers

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.