| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!

View
 

Homiletics

Page history last edited by Robert Martel 2 years ago

 

1) Find print books by their Call Numbers:

Below is a selection of books from the AST collection related to the subject "Homiletics"

 

Hint:  Try browsing the shelves around these books to find others related to the subject

 

Methods of Preaching:

Thinking Theologically: The Preacher as Theologian BT 78 A45 2008
Cadences of Home: Preaching Among Exiles BV 4211.2 B745 1997
Homiletic: Moves and Structures BV 4211.2 B86 1987
Foolishness of Preaching: Proclaiming the Gospel Against the Wisdom of the World BV 4211.2 C265 1998
The Preaching Event BV 4222 C54 1989
As One without Authority BV 4211.3 C73 2001
Craddock on the Craft of Preaching BV 4211.3 C74 2011
Pitfalls in Preaching BV 4221 E75 1996 
Preaching Christ from the Old Testament: A Contemporary Hermeneutical Method BS 1191.5 G73 1999
Preaching as a Language of Hope BV 4211.3 P73 2007
Folly of Preaching: Models and Methods BV 4211.3 F65 2007
Homiletical Plot, Expanded Edition: The Sermon as Narrative Art Form BV 4235 S76 L69 2001
Big Idea of Biblical Preaching: Connecting the Bible to People BS 534.5 B55 1998

 

Resources for Preaching:

Feasting on the Word: Preaching the Revised Common Lectionary (4 volumes)
BV 4235 L43 F43 2008 year A-C
From Exegesis to Exposition: A Practical Guide to Using Biblical Hebrew BS 1171.2 C55 1998
Season of Creation: A Preaching Commentary BT 695.5 S34 2011
Dictionary of Illustrations; Over 900 Illustrations for Teachers, Speakers, and Ministers BV 4225.2 H4

 

Sources for Exegesis:

Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament (3 volumes)
BS 2312 E913 1990
Handbook of New Testament Exegesis BS 2331 B56 2010

All Roads Lead to the Text: Eight Methods of Inquiry into the Bible - A Template for Model Exegesis

with Exegetical Examples Employing Logos Bible Software

BS 534.8 D47 2011
New Testament Exegesis: A Handbook for Students and Pastors BS 2331 F44 1983
Elements of Biblical Exegesis: A Basic Guide for Students and Ministers BS 511.3 G67 2009
Biblical Exegesis: A Beginner’s Handbook BS 476 H35 2007
Introduction to the History of Exegesis (3 volumes)
BS 500 M2813 1991
Discourse Grammar of the Greek New Testament: A Practical Introduction for Teaching and Exegesis PA 817 R86 2010
Old Testament Exegesis: A Handbook for Students and Pastors BS 476 S83 2001

 

2) Search by Subjects in the Online Library Catalogue:

Select "Advanced Search" then "Atlantic School of Theology catalogue only". Under "Filters" select "Subject" and enter one of the following below:

 

Preaching, Theological Reflection

Sermon

Reflection

Exegesis

Homil* (if you attach an asterisk to the end of  the root "Homil" the catalogue will look up

               all variations of that word such as homily, homiletic, homiletics, homiletical, homiletically)

Preach*

 

3) Reference Sources

Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias:

Concise Encyclopedia of Preaching
BV 4211.2 C583 1995 
Handbook for the Common Lectionary
BS 534.5 H36 1987
Feasting on the Word: Preaching the Revised Common Lectionary (4 volumes)
BV 4235 L43 F43 2008, Yr. A-C
New Interpreter's Handbook of Preaching

BV 4211.3 N49 2008

Dictionary of Hermeneutics :a Concise Guide to Terms, Names, Methods, and Expressions BS 476 H467 2005

 

4) Journals

To find journal titles (not articles) select the "Journals A-Z" tab in the Online Library Catalogue 

 

You can also browse the library's most recent print journal subscriptions located on the third floor or explore our back issues in the basement of the library.

Some past print journal subscriptions are:

 

Lectionary Homiletics

Homiletic

Pulpit Resource

New Proclamation

Call to Worship

Gathering

Liturgy

Liturgical Ministry

Word and World

 

5) Article Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

  • Full text articles on biblical archaeology; church history, mission, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; theology, religion, philosophy, and ethics
    

Academic Search Premier

  • A multidiscipline database containing full text articles in 15 major areas of academic study including theology, religion, philosophy, and ethics

Directory of Open Access Journals 

  • An online directory of open access  journals. Includes peer-reviewed journals and full text articles

 

6) Online Resources

Sermons That Work

The Text This Week

Christian Classics Ethereal Library

 

7) Audiovisual Materials

Preaching BV 4222 C7 1986 VIDEO CASS 1-4 
Beyond a Ministry of Presence: Preaching and Innocent Suffering BR 45 N5 2010 DVD 1-3
Our sufficiency is of God: essays on preaching in honor of Gardner C. Taylor BV 4222 O86 2010 CD
Interpretation of New Testament Texts in Holy Week BR 45 N5 2002 VIDEO CASS 1-4
Worldly Preaching
BR 45 N5 2001 VIDEO CASS 1-3
Preaching "Everything in Parables"
BR 45 N5 1999 VIDEO CASS 1-4

 

 

Have a question?  Please contact the AST Library for assistance.

AST Library Website

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.