| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!

View
 

Biblical Studies

Page history last edited by Robert Martel 2 years ago

1) Find print books by their Call Number ranges:

Below are some of the subject areas found in the 3rd floor stacks

 

BS11-115: Early versions

BS125-355: Modern texts and versions

BS500-534.8: Criticism and interpretation

BS580: Individual Old Testament characters

BS585-613: Study and teaching

BS1160-1191.5: Criticism and interpretation

BS1200-1830: Special parts of the Old Testament

BS2350-2393: Criticism and interpretation

BS2415-2417: The teachings of Jesus

BS2430-2520: Men, women, children of New Testament

BS2525-2544: Study and teaching

BS2640-2765.6: Epistles of Paul

 

2) Search by Subjects in the Online Library Catalogue:

Select "Advanced Search" then "Atlantic School of Theology catalogue only". Under "Filters" select "Subject" and enter one of the following below:

 

Bible Dictionaries

Bible Commentaries
Bible Interlinear

Bible Concordances

Bible Old Testament

Bible New Testament

Bible John

*or any combination of the word  "Bible " and the name of a specific Bible book

 

3) Search by Bible Book in the Online Library Catalogue:

Search the following using the method outline above in section (2) :

 

Bible. Old Testament

*or instead of adding "Old Testament" you can simply enter the name of the specific book you are looking for, and add

"Criticism and Interpretation, etc":

e.g. Bible. Genesis -- Criticism, interpretation, etc

 

Bible. New Testament

*or instead of adding "New Testament" you can simply enter the name of the specific book you are looking for, and add

"Criticism and Interpretation, etc":

e.g. Bible. Luke -- Criticism, interpretation, etc

 

4) Reference Sources

Commentaries:

New Interpreter's Bible (13 volumes)
BS 491.2 N484 1994
Expositor's Bible Commentary (13 volumes)
BS 491.3 E96 2006

 

Study Bibles:

Harper Collins Study Bible: New Revised Standard Version including the Apocraphal/

Deuterocanonical books with Concordance

BS 191.5 A1 2006 S26 2006a
New Oxford Annotated Bible: New Revised Standard Version with Apocrypha BS 191.5 A1 2010 N48 2010e

 

Bible Dictionaries:

New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible (5 volumes) BS 440 N445 2006
Harper Collins Bible Dictionary
BS 440 H235 2011

 

 Interlinear Bibles:

The Interlinear Hebrew/Greek English Bible (4 volumes) BS 3.5 1976
Zondervan Greek and English Interlinear New Testament (NASB-NIV)
BS 1965.5 2008b
Interlinear NIV Hebrew-English Old Testament BS 715 1987b

 

Concordances:

NRSV Concordance Unabridged: Including the Apocryphal/ Deuterocanonical Books
BS 425 K645 1991
Strongest NIV Exhaustive Concordance
BS 425 G62 2004
Strongest NASB Exhaustive Concordance
BS 425 N27 2004

 

5) Journals

To find journal titles (not articles) select "Journals A-Z" tab in the Online Library Catalogue 

 

You can also browse the library's most recent print journal subscriptions located on the 3rd floor or explore our back issues in the basement of the library.

Some past print journal subscriptions are:

 

Bible Today
Biblica
Biblical Archaeology Review
Biblical Theology Bulletin
Expository Times
New Testament Studies
Revue Biblique

6) Article Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

  • Full text articles on biblical archaeology; church history, mission, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; theology, religion, philosophy, and ethics
    

Academic Search Premier

  • A multidiscipline database containing full text articles in 15 major areas of academic study including theology, religion, philosophy, and ethics

Directory of Open Access Journals

  • An online directory of open access  journals. Includes peer-reviewed journals and full text articles

 

7) Online Resources

Academic:

Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception Online

Oxford Bibliographies: Biblical Studies

 

Websites:

The Text This Week

Blue Letter Bible

NET Bible

Vatican- the Holy See, Resource Library

 

Have a question?  Please contact the AST Library for assistance.

AST Library Website

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.