| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!

View
 

Pastoral Studies

Page history last edited by Robert Martel 2 years ago

1) Find print books by their Call Numbers:

Below is a selection of books from the AST collection related to the subject "Pastoral Studies"

 

Hint:  Try browsing the shelves around these books to find others related to the subject

 

Preaching for Church Transformation BV 4221 E28 2010
Interpreting the Bible: Approaching the text in preparation for preaching BS 476 F66 2009
Starting with Spirit: Nurturing your call to pastoral leadership
BV 4011.3 E66 2011
Pursuing Pastoral Excellence: Pathways to fruitful leadership
BV 4011.3 H665 2011
Pastoral Counseling Handbook: A guide to helping the hurting
BV 4012.2 H44 2009
Contemplative Counselor: A way of being
BR 115 C69 N66 2011

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2) Search by Subjects in the Online Library Catalogue:

Select "Advanced Search" then "Atlantic School of Theology catalogue only". Under "Filters" select "Subject" and enter one of the following below:

 

Christian ethics
Pastoral theology

Practical theology

Pastoral care

Pastoral counseling

Pastoral psychology

Leadership
Chaplaincy
Pastoral education

 

3) Reference Sources

Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias:

The New Interpreter's Handbook of Preaching BV 4211.3 N49 2008
Dictionary of Pastoral Care and Counseling
BV 4011 D43 1990

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL):

  • Includes online multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks, and specialized reference sources
  • Subject areas covered include History, Law, Religion, and the Social Sciences

 

Select titles in the GVRL:

Encyclopedia of Death and the Human Experience

Encyclopedia of Psychology and Religion

Encyclopedia of Social Psychology

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology

Handbook of Death and Dying

Medicine- Health- and Bioethics: Essential Primary Sources

Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods

 

4) Journals

To find journal titles (not articles) select the "Journals A-Z" tab in the Online Library Catalogue 

 

You can also browse the library's most recent print journal subscriptions located on the third floor or explore our back issues in the basement of the library.

Some past print journal subscriptions are:

 

Clergy Journal

Journal of Pastoral Care and Counseling

Journal of Pastoral Counseling

Leadership

Reflective Practice: Formation and Supervision in Ministry

 

5) Article Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

  • Full text articles on biblical archaeology; church history, mission, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; theology, religion, philosophy, and ethics
    

Academic Search Premier

  • A multidiscipline database containing full text articles in 15 major areas of academic study including theology, religion, philosophy, and ethics

Directory of Open Access Journals 

  • An online directory of open access  journals. Includes peer-reviewed journals and full text articles

 

6) Online Resources

Professional Development:

CASC/ACSS:  Canadian Association for Spiritual Care

American Association of Pastoral Counselors

Association of Professional Chaplains

 

Pastoral Care and Counseling Resources:

Canadian Virtual Hospice

Congregational Resource Guide

 

Preaching Resources:

Sermons That Work

Transforming Christian Leaders

The Text This Week

 

Have a question?  Please contact the AST Library for assistance.

AST Library Website

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.