| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!

View
 

Theology and the Arts

Page history last edited by Robert Martel 2 years ago

  

1) Find print books by their Call Numbers:

Below is a selection of books from the AST collection related to the subject "Theology and the Arts"

 

Hint:  Try browsing the shelves around these books to find others related to the subject

 

Art and Soul: Signposts for Christians in the arts BR 115 A8 B73 2001
Continuum Companion to Religion and Film
PN 1995.9 R4 C66 2009
Sacred Power, Sacred Space
NA 4605 K48 2008
Arts and the Spirit: The role of art in faith formation
BR 115 A8 A775 2007
A Song to Sing, a Life to Live: Reflections on music as spiritual practice
ML 3921 S17 2005 
Windows to Heaven: Introducing icons to Protestants and Catholics BX 378.5 Z45 2005
Art of God: The making of Christians and the meaning of worship BV 178 I78 2006
Faith and Beauty: A theological aesthetic BR 115 A8 F37 2001
Liturgy and the Beauty of the Unknown: Another place BV 1975 T67 2007
For the Beauty of the Church: Casting a vision for the arts BR 115 A8 F66 2010
Images of Truth: Religion and the art of seeing BV 150 D55 1996

 

 

"Peace Dove" generously donated to AST by

Sattler's Stained Glass Studio and artist Sue Obata

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2) Search by Subjects in the Online Library Catalogue:

Select "Advanced Search" then "Atlantic School of Theology catalogue only". Under "Filters" select "Subject" and enter one of the following below:

 

Aesthetics -- Religious aspects
Christianity and the arts
Art and religion
Image (Theology)

Saints in Art

Motion Pictures- Religious aspects

Theology in Literature

Theater- Religious aspects

Christian Art and Symbolism

Religious Architecture

Music- Religious aspects

Hymns

 

3) Reference Sources

Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias:

Iconography of Christian Art (2 volumes)
N 7830 S3513
Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture
N 7830 M87 1996
Signs and Symbols in Christian Art
N 7830 F37 1958

 

 

 

 

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL):

  • Includes online multi-volume encyclopedias, handbooks, and specialized reference sources
  • Subject areas covered include History, Law, Religion, and the Social Sciences

 

Select titles in the GVRL:

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras

 

4) Journals

To find journal titles (not articles) select the "Journals A-Z" tab in the Online Library Catalogue 

 

You can also browse the library's most recent print journal subscriptions located on the third floor or explore our back issues in the basement of the library.

Some past print journal subscriptions are:

 

ARTS: The Arts in Religious and Theological Studies

Religion and the Arts

Liturgical Arts

 

5) Article Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials

  • Full text articles on biblical archaeology; church history, mission, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; theology, religion, philosophy, and ethics
    

Academic Search Premier

  • A multidiscipline database containing full text articles in 15 major areas of academic study including theology, religion, philosophy, and ethics

Directory of Open Access Journals 

  • An online directory of open access  journals. Includes peer-reviewed journals and full text articles

 

6) Digital and Online Resources

Websites:

Museum of Biblical Art   

CIVA- Christians in the Visual Arts

Institute for Theology, Imagination and the Arts (ITIA)

 

Multimedia:

ATLA Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative

 

Have a question?  Please contact the AST Library for assistance.

AST Library Website

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.